Monday, December 7, 2009

Champions League Foot-Ball

The major turning point in the evolution of the competition came in the 1992/93 season when the UEFA Champions League, involving a group stage in addition to the traditional knockout elements, was officially inaugurated. The popularity of the group phase has witnessed the competition grow from eight to 32 teams with matches taking place on Tuesdays and Wednesdays across Europe.

Top teams will qualify from the respective league(English Premier League, Lal-Liga , Serie -A . for example: top 3 teams will qualify from English premier league. 32 teams are divided into 8 groups comprises 4 teams in a group. In a group each team plays each other and top 2 teams from the group will qualify for next round knock-out stage.

Teams qualified for next knock-out stage 2008-09

Groups A Groups B

Bordeaux Manchester United

Bayern Munich CSKA Moscow

Groups C Groups D

Real Madrid Chelsea

AC Milan FC Porto

Groups E Groups F

Fiorentina Barcelona

Lyon Inter Milan

Groups G Groups H

Sevilla Arsenal

Unirea Urziceni Olympiacos

No comments:

Post a Comment